EFCG – European Fine Chemicals Group

Mainly active pharmaceutical ingredients & excipients, agrochemicals and their intermediates.
Founded in 2004, EFCG is the forum and the voice of the European Fine Chemicals manufacturers. We are a non-profit international sector group within Cefic, the Brussels-based European Chemical Industry Council which represents 29,000 large, medium and small chemical companies in Europe, directly providing 1.2 million jobs and accounting for 17% of world chemical production.
EFCG membership consists of 33 companies located all over Europe and 4 national industry associations.


S. Denzinger (Merck KGaA)


Core substances: Fine chemicals (Pharma and Agriculture), intermediates


38 Full Members:
Albemarle (BE), Allessa (DE), Alzchem Trotsberg (DE), BASF (DE), Borregaard (NO), Bracco Imaging (IT), CABB (CH), Cerbios (CH),  Dipharma (IT), ESIM Chemicals (AU), Euticals (IT), Evonik (DE), F.I.S. (IT), Flamma (IT), GE Healthcare (NO), Grace (DE), Helsinn (CH), Hovione FarmaCiencia (PT), Lonza (CH), Merck KGaA (DE), Minakem (BE), Novasep (FR), Olon (IT), Procos (IT), Robinson Brothers (UK), Roquette (Fr), Saltigo (DE), Schirm (DE), Seqens (FR), Seratec (FR), Siegfried (CH), Solvay (FR), Vertellus (UK), WeylChem (DE)

Including 4 Trade Associations: Afaquim (ES), Aschimfarma (IT), BioPharmaChem Ireland (IE),  SICOS (FR)



  • Preventing counterfeiting of pharma APIs & Excipients
  • Falsified Medicines Directive: improve its implementation
  • Addressing issues of raw material shortages
  • GDUFA (Generic Drug User Fee Amendment in USA) negotiation and implementation monitoring
  • Voluntary Guidelines for the manufacture of ISO-regulated, non-GMP Fine Chemical substances
  • Innovation: development of support services
  • REACH Intermediates/Strictly Controlled Conditions: advocacy for better regulation and enforcement
  • Cooperation with other EU & US trade associations on common sectoral issues


For more information:



Maggie Saykali


Myriam Goffin